Information relating to video selfies

Updated 3 months ago by Astrid Seulliet

The video selfie is an account authentication method put in place by Lydia. The user can be asked to take a video selfie in two cases: when requesting a password reset or in order to obtain a verified profile.

In order to take a video selfie, the user must film themselves and speak out loud following the instructions given on screen. Learn more about the benefits and criterias of a successful video selfie.

The video selfie isn’t mandatory. If the user doesn’t wish to take a video selfie, they can proceed otherwise.

Why this choice? 

Usually, when a password is forgotten, we are asked to click on a "Forgotten password" link. This then generates the sending of an email to reset the password, or the sending of a letter, or asks us to set secret questions (not so secret...) to answer, such as “What was the name of your first pet?”,“What was the name of your elementary school?”, etc.

Unfortunately, these methods can easily be corrupted by malicious individuals.

This is why Lydia has implemented the video selfie choice.

The video selfie is a more secure solution, difficult to forge, because:

  • Of the use of random sentences or sentences relating to a given moment,
  • Of actual humans checking these selfies. A machine might have trouble discerning a video overlay or a suspicious situation - it will be easier for humans to detect these faults. It’s slightly longer, but worth it.

At Lydia, only the teams responsible for verifying the profiles of Lydia users have access to these video selfies. These video selfies are not shared with third-party services without the express consent of the user by checking a box.

Whatever documents are transmitted (video selfie included), Lydia respects the personal data protection policy as defined here.

How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)